Day 23 ~ Water for Elephants

“I scan the room. Catherine is writing quickly, her light brown hair falling over her face. She is left-handed, and because she writes in pencil her left arm is silver from wrist to elbow.”

This quote made me smile because being left-handed myself I can completely relate 🙂 Most right handers would never realize that for a person who is left-handed, writing can be very messy. When you are right-handed, as you write, your right hand leads the writing object. When you are left-handed, your hand follows the writing object, usually right across what you have just written. I do not know how many times I have had to wash the pencil, pen, marker or chalk from my hand because of the residue left behind as my hand moved across the writing. (Maybe this is why I prefer typing!) May not be a big problem, but it is one any left-hander can probably relate to and I enjoyed the small reference here in this quote.

~Elizabeth